Hopefully Useful Links

Shops
We have no connection with these shops other than members have used them and been pleased with their service
Cotswold outdoors https://www.cotswoldoutdoor.com/ LMC members can get 15% discount at Preston shop and via mail order.
Trespass http://www.trespass.co.uk/ Preston shop and mail order, LMC members get a 10% discount.
Outdoor Action http://www.outdooraction.co.uk/
Rock + Run http://www.rockrun.com/
Snow + Rock http://www.snowandrock.com/
Up and Under http://www.upandunder.co.uk/
Field & Trek http://www.field-trek.co.uk/
The Great Outdoors http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/
Outdoor Kit http://www.outdoorkit.co.uk/
Winfield Megastore http://www.winfieldsmegastore.com/
Map Kiosk http://www.mapkiosk.com/
Wiggle (usually good value) http://www.wiggle.co.uk/
Gear Zone http://www.gear-zone.co.uk/

UIAA http://journal.uiaa.ch/ organisation responsible for equipemnt safety standards and site contains much useful information for users of technical equipment.

Mountaineering/ tourist information and holiday companies
Wants to be known as ‘Best walking site of Britain’ http://www.walkingbritain.co.uk/
Colletts Mountain Holidays http://www.colletts.co.uk/
Cumbria Tourist Board http://www.cumbria-the-lake-district.co.uk/
British Mountaineering Council http://www.thebmc.co.uk/
UK Climbing information http://www.ukclimbing.com/
Official(?) Via Ferrata website http://www.viaferrata.org/

Maps & guides
Ordnance Survey Maps http://www.ordsvy.gov.uk/
Lancashire maps and photographs http://mario.lancashire.gov.uk/
Elstead Maps http://www.elstead.co.uk/
Historic Maps http://www.old-maps.co.uk/
Maps and Guidebooks from across the globe http://www.mapsworldwide.co.uk/
Stanfords Books and Maps: The World's Best Selection http://www.stanfords.co.uk/
Cicerone mountaineering Guides http://www.cicerone.co.uk/
Countryside Agency - Access Land Maps http://www.openaccess.gov.uk/

Software & GPS
Anquet maps and software http://www.anquet.co.uk/
Memory-Map Windows mapping software http://www.memory-map.com/
Alpine Quest Android mapping software https://www.alpinequest.net/







Community Web Kit provided free by BT